Today’s technologies are all about connection: See what this person is doing, watch what your doorbell camera is seeing, read what that person is posting. We’re connected with others in ways we never thought possible mere decades ago. And it’s no surprise: humans are social creatures.
But what happens when you need to break a connection in a world that encourages visibility above everything? What happens when someone needs to break a connection with you? Blocking a number can be the perfect way to start breaking that link, however awkward it may be.
How to know if someone blocked your number
If you follow these steps and find out you were blocked by someone, don’t keep trying to contact them. They have their own reasons for blocking you, and you don’t want your efforts to fall under harassment. It’s important to remember your feelings are valid, but so is the other person’s right to privacy.
Step 1: Send a test text
If you and the other person you think may have blocked you both use iPhones, your text message exchange is through iMessage, so they show up in blue.
If you send a text message and it comes up as Delivered, then you were not blocked.
The signs are in the colors
If the sent text looks green instead, it means it was sent as an SMS instead of iMessage. You may also see Not Delivered in red under the green text bubble or the message may go through as an iMessage but not show if it was Delivered, these can all be clues that you may have been blocked by the other person.
However, iMessages can show up in green or not show as Delivered when someone’s phone is off or if they don’t have a signal or internet connection. So do give the other party time to get to their texts before assuming you were blocked.
If your message doesn’t come up as Delivered or it looks green instead of blue, it’s time to do a little more digging.
Step 2: Call them
It’s all about putting the pieces together to determine if someone has blocked your number. If you call someone that hasn’t blocked your number, you typically hear several rings before it goes to voicemail.
When you call a number that has blocked yours, you may hear one or half a ring or no rings at all and then the call will go to voicemail. If it goes straight to voicemail, their phone may also be off or out of range, or they may have temporarily turned on Do Not Disturb mode to work, drive, or sleep, so it doesn’t necessarily mean they blocked your number.
Step 3: Hide your number
If your messages are delivered as text when they used to be iMessages and your calls go straight to voicemail consistently, there’s a good chance your number was blocked. You can try calling the number of the person that may have blocked you from a different number or hide your number by dialing *67 before their phone number.
Note: Before proceeding to this step, think about how the other party will react if they pick up and discover it’s you.
If you get through from a different number or by hiding your number, then you can be pretty certain you have been blocked.
No one wants to find themselves being blocked by someone else, especially if it’s someone you care about. But if you confirm someone has blocked your number, the best thing to do is to allow that person the privacy and time to process their needs for doing so.
Disclaimer : OneNewsTech.com is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us – email@example.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.